2020 Exemption Categories

Players may be exempt based on one and/or both of the following two categories: (To become officially entered, every player must apply online and submit an application fee prior to the deadline date.)

(1) Qualify under categories A, B, C, D or E, or
(2) Have received a formal written invitation from the Western Amateur Tournament Committee 

A. Exemptions based on WGA Championships
Western Amateur:
A-1. Any Champion.
A-2. “Sweet Sixteen” (match-play qualifier) since 2015.
A-3. Posted 72-hole score since 2017.

Western Junior:
A-4. Champion since 2017.
A-5. Top three & ties since 2019.

B. Exemptions based on other Amateur events
B-1. Top 175 Individuals in the Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking system (see owagr.com) or World Amateur Golf Ranking system (see wagr.com) between time of entry and the application deadline.
B-2. Playing Members of a Walker Cup and/or Top 5 Men's World Amateur Team since 2015.
B-3. 2019 Rolex First-Team Junior All American Team members, or Top 15 individuals in the AJGA Rolex Ranking at any point between June 1, 2020 and June 19, 2020.

C. Exemptions based on Collegiate events
C-1. Top 25 Individuals in the Golfweek/Sagarin or Division-1 Golfstat Men's rankings on or after 6/1/2020.
C-2. 2019 & 2020 GCAA Division I First Team All-Americans.
C-3. Medalist in 2020 national championship of NAIA or NCAA (Div. II or III). 
C-4. 2020 medalist of the NCAA Division I Regionals.

D. Exemptions based on Special Considerations or Invitation
D-1. A limited number of D-1 “Special Consideration Exemptions” and/or written 
invitations, may be granted by the Committee. If you do not qualify under the 
exemptions listed in A, B, C or E, please apply for a D-1 “Special Consideration 
Exemption” online.

E. Exemptions based on professional events
E-1. Posted 72-hole score in a PGA TOUR event, PGA European TOUR event, or 
Web.com Tour event since 2018. 
E-2. Posted a 36-hole score in The Masters Tournament, U.S. Open or The Open