The Western Amateur has been a prestigious national tournament since its founding in 1899. Many of the great names in golf have etched their names on the George R. Thorne Trophy, but many more were unable to conquer the grueling test.

Each year, 156 invited players come from across the globe to play one of the toughest formats in amateur golf. The field will play 18 holes of individual stroke play on Tuesday and Wednesday, after which it is cut to the low 44 scores and ties. The remaining players will play 36 holes of individual stroke play on Thursday to determine the low 16 finishers. The “Sweet Sixteen” will compete in Match Play on Friday and Saturday to decide the champion.

The Western Amateur's Sweet Sixteen have turned out to be quite an elite group. Over the years, Sweet Sixteen members have accomplished the following...

    • 27 major championships since 2000
    • 18 PGA TOUR Player of the Year Awards since 1990
    • 19 wins during the 2018 PGA TOUR season
    • 7 FedExCup titles
    • 7 PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year Awards since 1990
    • 11 participants in the 2017 Presidents Cup
    • 8 of the top 20 on the PGA TOUR career money list

To view the Western Amateur record book, click here to download it in PDF format.



Year   First NameLast NameCourse
2019 Garrett Rank Point O' Woods G&CC
2018   Cole Hammer Sunset Ridge CC
2017  Norman     Xiong  Skokie CC 
2016  Dylan Meyer Knollwood Club 
2015  Dawson  Armstrong  Rich Harvest Farms 
2014 Beau Hossler The Beverly CC
2013 Jordan Niebrugge The Alotian Club
2012 Chris Williams Exmoor CC
2011 Ethan Tracy North Shore CC
2010 David Chung Skokie CC
2009 John Hahn Conway Farms GC
2008 Danny Lee Point O'Woods G&CC
2007 Jhared Hack Point O'Woods G&CC
2006 Bronson LaCassie Point O'Woods G&CC
2005 Jamie Lovemark Point O'Woods G&CC
2004 Ryan Moore Point O'Woods G&CC
2003 Chris Botsford Point O'Woods G&CC
2002 John Klauk Point O'Woods G&CC
2001 Bubba Dickerson Point O'Woods G&CC
2000 Michael Kirk Point O'Woods G&CC
1999 Steve Scott Point O'Woods G&CC
1998 Michael Henderson Point O'Woods G&CC
1997 Danny Green Point O'Woods G&CC
1996 Joel Kribel Point O'Woods G&CC
1995 Patrick Lee Point O'Woods G&CC
1994 Tiger Woods Point O'Woods G&CC
1993 Justin Leonard Point O'Woods G&CC
1992 Justin Leonard Point O'Woods G&CC
1991 Phil Mickelson Point O'Woods G&CC
1990 Craig Kanada Point O'Woods G&CC
1989 David Sutherland Point O'Woods G&CC
1988 Chris DiMarco Point O'Woods G&CC
1987 Hugh Royer III Point O'Woods G&CC
1986 Greg Parker Point O'Woods G&CC
1985 Scott Verplank Point O'Woods G&CC
1984 John Inman Point O'Woods G&CC
1983 Billy Tuten Point O'Woods G&CC
1982 Rick Fehr Point O'Woods G&CC
1981 Frank Fuhrer Point O'Woods G&CC
1980 Hal Sutton Point O'Woods G&CC
1979 Hal Sutton Point O'Woods G&CC
1978 Bob Clampett Point O'Woods G&CC
1977 Jim Nelford Point O'Woods G&CC
1976 John Stark Point O'Woods G&CC
1975 Andy Bean Point O'Woods G&CC
1974 Curtis Strange Point O'Woods G&CC
1973 Ben Crenshaw Point O'Woods G&CC
1972 Gary Sanders Point O'Woods G&CC
1971 Andy North Point O'Woods G&CC
1970 Lanny Wadkins Wichita CC
1969 Steve Melnyk Rockford GC
1968 Rik Massengale Grosse Ile G&CC
1967 Bob Smith Milburn G&CC
1966 Jim Wiechers Pinehurst CC
1965 Bob Smith Point O'Woods G&CC
1964 Steve Oppermann Tucson CC
1963 Tom Weiskopf Point O'Woods G&CC
1962 Art Hudnutt Orchard Lake CC
1961 Jack Nicklaus New Orleans CC
1960 Tommy Aaron Northland CC
1959 Dr. Ed Updegaff Waverley CC
1958 James (Billy) Key CC of Florida
1957 Dr. Ed Updegaff Old Warson CC
1956 Mason Ruldolph Belle Meade CC
1955 Eddie Merrins Rockford GC
1954 Bruce Cudd Broadmoor GC
1953 Dale Morey Blythefield CC
1952 Frank Stranahan Exmoor CC
1951 Frank Stranahan South Bend CC
1950 Charles Coe Dallas CC
1949 Frank Stranahan Bellerive CC
1948 Skee Reigel Wichita CC
1947 Marvin Ward Wakonda CC
1946 Frank Stranahan Northland CC
1942 Pvt. Pat Abbott Manito G&CC
1941 Marvin Ward Broadmoor GC
1940 Marvin Ward Minneapolix GC
1939 Harry Todd Oklahoma City GC
1938 Bob Babbish South Bend CC
1937 Wilford Wehrle Los Angeles CC
1936 Paul Leslie Happy Hollow Club
1935 Charles Yates Broadmoor GC
1934 Zell Eaton Twin Hills GC
1933 Jack Westland Memphis CC
1932 Gus Moreland Rockford GC
1931 Don Moe Portland GC
1930 John Lehman Beverly CC
1929 Don Moe Mission Hills GC
1928 Frank Dolp Bob O'Link GC
1927 Bob Stein Seattle GC
1926 Frank Dolp White Bear YC
1925 Keefe Carter Lochmoor Club
1924 H.R. Johnson Hinsdale CC
1923 Chick Evans Mayfield CC
1922 Chick Evans Hilcrest CC
1921 Chick Evans Westmoreland CC
1920 Chick Evans Memphis CC
1919 Harry Legg Sunset Hill CC
1917 Francis Ouimet Midlothian CC
1916 Heinrich Schmidt Del Monte G&CC
1915 Chick Evans Mayfield CC
1914 Chick Evans Kent CC
1913 Warren Wood Homewood GC
1912 Chick Evans Denver CC
1911 Albert Seckel Detroit GC
1910 Mason Phelps Minikahda Club
1909 Chick Evans Homewood GC
1908 Mason Phelps Arsenal GC
1907 H.C. Egan Chicago GC
1906 D.E. Sawyer Glen Echo CC
1905 H.C. Egan Glen View Club
1904 H.C. Egan Exmoor CC
1903 Walter Egan Euclid Club
1902 H.C. Egan Chicago GC
1901 Phelps Hoyt Midlothian CC
1900 William Waller Onwentsia GC
1899 David Forgan Glen View Club



The following documents and forms are available to all applicants and players. Please select the appropriate document for your needs. If you need additional information, please contact us.